Dessert: Chocolate Silk Pie

Ah, the part of dinner everyone looks forward to the most: DESSERT! Whether you are attending another holiday party this season, or you just have a major sweet tooth, this one is a winner. I served this as dessert after tomato and goat cheese appetizers and pork shoulder braised in wine on Christmas, but I can already tell it’s a recipe I’ll revisit often.

A couple notes before we begin:

1. If you do not have all day long to make this for your evening dinner event, MAKE IT AHEAD. The filling doesn’t actually bake, it chills in the fridge for at least 6 hours.

2. Yes, I said the filling doesn’t bake. It’s more like a mousse, so if the whole “eggs-aren’t-being-cooked” thing freaks you out, you might not want to make this. I was always the kid who licked the spatulaย anyway. I’m such a rebel.


This pie recipe is from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook.ย It’s quickly becoming a favorite cookbook of mine because of Deb’s ability to take classic recipes and make them her own – something I’m trying to do as well!

Aviary Photo_130642055329616102

WHAT YOU NEED:

There’s three parts to this recipe; the crust, the filling, and the topping. The book graciously gives all of these ingredients in sections, so that’s what I’ll share with you.

The Crust

1 1/2 cups chocolate wafer crumbs (it takes one whole 9 oz package – I ground mine in the food processor, but I bet you can do it by hand if you’re feeling old-school)

2 tablespoons sugar

Pinch of salt

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Filling

12 tablespoons room temperature butter

1 cup sugar

3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Garnish

1 cup heavy or whipping cream

1 tablespoon sugar

Chocolate curls shaved from a bittersweet bar with a peeler (optional)


Aviary Photo_130642055534044596

Step 1: Making the crust

Mix the dry ingredients, then add the butter. Press into your pie dish, then let the crust cool in the fridge for about an hour before filling.

Aviary Photo_130642056384191198

The pie dish that I used is quite tall, so my crust didn’t go all the way up the sides of the plate. I got it as tall as I could, without making it too thin, and relied on the chilling period to settle the pie enough – it worked.

Step 2: Making the filling

I followed this portion of the recipe to a “T”, no additions or improvising.ย I wanted to be sure I got the correct texture.

Aviary Photo_130642056948548292

Step 3: Garnish

Beat whipping cream with the sugar and spoon onto the pie. Chocolate flakes are a must, in my opinion.

Aviary Photo_130642057479973602

Notes:

When I make this again, I will try one thing: adding a touch of salt to the filling. I liked that extra flavor in the crust so much, I wonder what would happen if I put it in the silky chocolate as well.

My crust was a little hard, I’m not sure if I let it bake too long, or mixed ingredients in an improper order. It was delicious, but my fork had trouble in spots breaking through. If any of you experience this or find a way to fix it, I’d love to hear about it!

Try it out and let me know how it went!

Lydia Jane


In my kitchen:

Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

In my mother’s kitchen:

Cuisinart 9 Cup Food Processor

Leave a Reply

