Budgeting: The Apartment Wishlist

I love using Pinterest to get decorating ideas for my space, but I have to be honest, sometimes I get more frustrated than inspired because I have so many ideas and not nearly enough money to accomplish them as quickly as I’d like. I decided about a month ago that I would begin a wishlist of things I wanted for the apartment. With the help of my husband, we put one together and focused on larger pieces (like the dining room table that he and I are currently working on!) or tools that would help to add storage or keep the place clean. This way, when we find ourselves with a bit of extra cash, we can look at our list of what we already feel could be useful in our space rather than aimlessly perusing too-expensive home stores or endless ads on Craigslist. It’s also a good reminder for when we’re exploring our Chicago neighborhoods – we may stumble on something we know we have on the list! This helps us to budget our money for what we need and what will work in our apartment. We’re also not afraid to make some furniture ourselves, which saves lots of money and helps with the custom sizing issues you might face in your home as well!

Aviary Photo_130662431366963848

A few of the things we have on our wishlist:

  • Dining table chairs (2 or 3)
  • Large area rug for the living room
  • TV console table with storage drawers
  • Wooden headboard with shelf
  • Curtains for the front windows
  • Another high table in the kitchen for added prep space
  • Accent chair for the living room

As you can see, many of these items could get expensive very quickly, and it would be difficult to find them all in one weekend or even one month! But having the plans visible (we hang out wishlist on the fridge) helps us focus on one thing at a time, and let me tell you, it feels really good to cross an item off!

How do you prioritize? Tips are helpful!

Lydia Jane


One thought on “Budgeting: The Apartment Wishlist

Leave a Reply

