The Small Touches

I’ve always been interested in details – the small pieces that can easily go unnoticed but are important when creating a home. The details are what take nice furniture to awesome furniture, and sophisticated rooms to inviting spaces. I want to share some of my favorite details I have collected along with my favorite places to find more!

Aviary Photo_130718528410453423

Custom Return Address Stamp

Not only do these make sending mail much more fun, it also gives an extra something and the ones made with wooden handles look awesome on your desk. I have the “Walton” design from this Etsy shop and I love it. Your only issue will be deciding which style you like best!

Aviary Photo_130718528649782642

Fun Mail/Key Organizer

Originally I wanted something like this simply because I was tired of throwing my mail on the counter all the time, and my husband kept losing his keys, but it’s awesome to find something that is useful and looks good on my wall! This one is just from The Container Store, but depending on your personal style, there’s tons of options to buy or DIY.

Aviary Photo_130718528254159611

Aviary Photo_130718528037636312

Throw Pillows

This may be a more obvious detail, but man do they really make a difference! Plus, it’s super easy to collect lots of different styles that follow a color scheme. My kilim pillow came from an antique dealer who’d got it from a rug salesman in Turkey, while the ones on my bed were hand-sewn by a woman in Budapest, Hungary. Pillows are an easy way to add color and texture to a room and take it from bland to beautiful. (You can find some awesome kilim styles on etsy)

Aviary Photo_130718529098698142

Welcoming Door Mat

Think about it this way – what’s the first thing you want your guests to know about your home? There are ENDLESS wonderful door mats available, or you can easily paint one yourself. My recommendation for any of them though is to get one made with coir – they’ll last longer and can be rinsed and dried after a gross winter or particularly rainy season. Mine is from West Elm and it makes me smile every time I walk in the door.

My other favorite places for inspiration and details:

West Elm (ALWAYS CHECK THEIR SALES)

Gingiber on Etsy – woodland creature prints framed, on towels, or in card version – love!

House Beautiful – a wonderful magazine for inspiration and tips, plus, they aren’t afraid of color!

Rifle Paper Co. – Everything they make is beautifully done, and made in the U.S.A – I particularly love their recipe cards!

I love finding more of these, so share your favorites too!

Lydia Jane


In my home:

Address stamp – Jill Hartline’s shop on Etsy

Mail organizer – Container Store, by Umbra

Door mat – West Elm

Throw Pillows – Most were stumbled upon during travels! Click the link for some cool kilim ones from Etsy

Leave a Reply

