DIY: Candle Recycling

Here’s what happens. You’re shopping and you get an amazing smelling candle, probably in a beautiful container. You take it home and burn it non-stop until one sad day it won’t stay lit anymore when there’s plenty of wax inside! The dilemma: this candle was expensive, you don’t want to throw it out. It smells so good! The simple solution: recycle it! You probably have a zillion unused jars at home, and wicks are very cheap online.

Aviary Photo_130760060615124456

Aviary Photo_130760060449753352

I had bought two of these babies on sale at Anthropologie, because they smell fantastic. However, both sadly died after only 2/3 of the wax was gone due to the large amount of space around the wicks. Today, I decided to get my money’s worth. Here’s how it went:

First task: Getting the leftover wax out and removing the wicks

This wasn’t as difficult as I expected. I was able to pry the wax out with a butter knife and two of the four wicks actually stayed glued to the bottom of the tin, meaning the rest of the wax around it just sort of sprang free.

Aviary Photo_130760060350687029

Second task: Melting the wax and securing the new wick.

Melting is easy, just make sure you stir a lot, and keep the temp on low. To secure the wick, I dipped it in the melted wax, and then adhered it to the jar. Another site I had done research from told me this worked… To keep it up straight, I tied twist-ties to the wick and used a hair-tie to keep the twist-ties secure. I’ve seen better ways to do this, but I didn’t have a popsicle stick, tooth pick, or a string. What kind of an art teacher am I?

Aviary Photo_130760060073390656

Third task: Pouring 

Pour at a steady pace. Unfortunately, my wick came unstuck and I ended up spending a few minutes holding it in place until it could rest on the bottom by itself. It’s not perfect, but it will work. Next time I will superglue the wick to the bottom of the container. Too bad that other blog led me astray!

When it’s cooled, you can trim the wick to about a half inch above the top of your wax. I imagine if you had a lot of room left in your jar, you could even do a second scent above the first.

Aviary Photo_130760060011409622

This took about 30 minutes start to finish, and if not for my wick troubles, it would have been even less. Not bad considering I have a full new candle again! Have you ever done this? How’d it work out?

Lydia Jane


In my kitchen:

Mason jars

Wicks

Non-stick cookware (makes clean up a WHOLE lot easier)

Leave a Reply

