Inspiration for Your Fall Wedding

It’s officially fall, so I’ve been reminiscing a bit…My first anniversary is coming up this November and this year has already gone by so quickly and I’ve loved every minute of it. I won’t spend your reading time getting all gushy, but I thought as a celebration of my upcoming anniversary, I’d post some photos of my wedding as inspiration for you or your friends who are thinking of a Fall/Winter wedding!

I did a ton of the details myself, including hand-painting the blue on each and every one of my 200 wedding invitations! It was all worth it and came together perfectly. I’ll be sharing where I got things and what I did for the big day. Hope you find some inspiration, even if you’re already hitched! Stay tuned for full tutorials for a few of my DIYs shown here!

All photos below are the work of the incredibly talented Jenn at Emily-Waid Photography – she’s great! She’s currently based in NYC.

guanga-2353

The invites – I drew out the design, my aunt printed and cut them, I painted and gold-penned each one (hubby helped with the gold). Envelopes were ordered in bulk, invites printed on card stock from Michael’s, and THIS gold pen is the best (I tried 4).

guanga-2265

guanga-2267

The dress – this baby is actually from David’s Bridal. I loved the idea of a BHLDN dress, but those were a bit out of my price range. I think this one was perfect anyway!

guanga-2219

guanga-2220

The accessories – both my hair clip and my earrings came from USA Bride – I wanted something unique, and the hair clip especially felt like Fall with it’s twig style pieces (that are completely bendable to fit the updo). Shoes: both are from DSW (mine: Kelly & Katie, his: Aldo). His watch is from Fossil

guanga-2387

guanga-2091

The rings – no matter what you’re getting – SHOP LOCAL. My ring was custom designed, molded, and made at Oak Park Jewelers here in Illinois, and they take good care of it even after it leaves their store.

guanga-1048

The suitsHarry Suits. You take your measurements, they make you a suit for a great price. Easy as pie.

guanga-2255

guanga-2397

The bridesmaid dresses – I had someone on Etsy custom make them, but I did have to call up a friend whose a seamstress to make a couple of fixes.

guanga-2363

guanga-2373

The flowers – bulk ordered from Horrocks in Lansing, MI and then assembled by myself and family members – my aunt leading the team (can you tell she was important for this whole shindig?) Choices included: Hydrangeas, Brunias, Fresias, Roses, and dried Lotus pods.

guanga-2378

guanga-2389

The venueThe Cheney Place, downtown Grand Rapids, MI – so easy to work with and little need for decoration because it’s gorgeous and the second floor is a showroom for a vintage furniture rental company!

guanga-4002

guanga-4012

guanga-4026

The centerpieces – I collected vases and votives from thrift stores and spray painted them white and gold. I bought a bunch of candles and the venue put a bouquet of flowers and a collection of votives with lit candles on each table. (Tip: many places require a certain height of votive to prevent fire hazards, check before you buy ones you can’t use!)

Click here for a DIY on how I made these!

guanga-4006

guanga-4052

The table numbers/signs – each hand-painted by me. I found a font on Pinterest I liked and mimicked it for the numbers. The “G” note cards are from Paper Source. The stands were made by one of the groomsmen, burnt wood and wire!

guanga-4051

guanga-4016

guanga-4032

The guest book – My mom scored this huge frame at a thrift store – I painted it gold. I invested in a Fujifilm Instax 210 (so worth it) and got lots of film. This doubled as seat assignments with name cards, which were stamped and hand-written, then clipped with tiny clothespins.

guanga-4060

guanga-4023

The favors – my aunt made these fabulous caramel apples (YES, she really made them!)

guanga-4033

guanga-4034

The sparklers – bought in bulk, standard size – so easy

guanga-4450

Yes, that’s snow – I got married in November so snow was a possibility, but I loved it.

Please comment with your thoughts, questions, and other DIY wedding tips!

Lydia Jane


Rundown of sources

7 thoughts on “Inspiration for Your Fall Wedding

  1. What a beautiful wedding! I love the little pops of blue, especially with the bridge as a great background for photos! The DIY elements are super inspiring! I just got engaged in July and have always wanted a Fall wedding. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

