How to Not Be Overwhelmed by Spring Cleaning

If you’re really on top of things, you’re knee deep in spring cleaning at the moment. How’s it going so far? My annual reorganization and de-clutter routine has been a little slow to start this year, with a late spring break meaning school is super busy, being out of town a lot, and now just getting over a cold. So the tasks I’ve been imagining getting done are still just sitting there, waiting for me, and I suddenly realized there’s a lot I want to do! Here’s some tips to keep you focused, whether you haven’t started or are halfway through and need to stay motivated.

spring cleaning motivation

  • Recruit some help – your spouse, a friend, your mom, anyone! Not only will it be easier to accomplish big spring cleaning tasks with a helper, it’s also good to have someone keep you accountable if you really need to get rid of some things. Even just someone asking “do you really need that?” can make a big difference.
  • Prioritize! Give yourself 3 tasks you NEED to get done in order to breathe a sigh of relief this year. Is it going through the attic? Cleaning out a closet? Reorganizing your kitchen cabinets? Pick 3 that you focus on and make them the ones you get done. If you’re still feeling in the spirit afterward, do more tasks, but otherwise feel good about accomplishing the biggest things.

spring cleaning motivation

  • Schedule “Spring Cleaning” time, but don’t do it all in one day. Having a time set ahead where you know you’ll be working on your spring cleaning makes it harder to avoid, but don’t overdo it. Unless you are made of caffeine and adrenaline, I highly doubt you can get your whole list done in one day (if you can, tell me how you do it). We’ve still got time before summer is really in full bloom, so give yourself a few weeks to accomplish everything!
  • Don’t limit yourself to physical cleaning. (Wait, what? I have more to do?) Ok, yes, technically this adds more work, but it’s only if you need/want to. Delete old files on a laptop, clear out memory on your phone, finally edit those vacation photos and put them in an album, etc.

I don’t know why there’s such a tendency to “refresh” and clean around this time of year, but we might as well make the most of it while we’re feeling motivated! What are you doing for spring cleaning this year? How do you keep yourself focused and motivated to get it done?

Lydia Jane


Other helpful motivators:

31 thoughts on “How to Not Be Overwhelmed by Spring Cleaning

  1. These are great tips! Scheduling the time is brilliant. I just went through and cleaned out my entire desk and all the cabinets around it. Perfect timing too, because we just moved the computer to it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. Great tips, I especially like the one about not trying to do it all in one day. If I have 15 minutes of extra time, I try to use it on just one or two little tasks so that everything ends up getting done without me spending a whole day on it!

    Like

  3. I’m pretty good at keeping up with cleaning my apartment, but it’s also pretty small haha! Keeping my computer files organized is a whole other story though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  4. I love the list idea of 3 things to tackle , I am so visual, I love nothing more than crossing things off as they get done! I happen to like cleaning – does that make me crazy? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. “Unless you are made of caffeine and adrenaline”…I laughed out loud at that one. I’m often under that false impression. Great tips for someone who tries to take it on all at once (like me)!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Glad it was helpful. I often think I can take on a lot and have to remind myself I’m only one person and it doesn’t all need to be done at the same time. Still working through my list!

      Like

  6. all of this is SO accurate! I will admit…sometimes I’ll have my boyfriend come over to help me clean a bit & he has no idea what he is getting himself into! hahaha! It is true though- prioritize. I have absolutely NO idea what I would do without my planner. I literally plan my cleaning schedule with it! Love this post gal! Keep it up!
    XO,
    Chloe

    Like

Leave a Reply

