Making Summer Count

Most would say summer has already started (at least in Chicago), but I’ve got just a few days left for my school year, which means my summer break from teaching is close, but not quite here yet. Here’s what I’ve got planned to make the most of those precious weeks off!

Easy outfits – I love nothing more than throwing a t-shirt and jeans/shorts on. No jacket, no worries. I’ve already been stocking up on some super comfy tees, and these are on my list:

Screenshot_20160605-153354_1
Image via: Everlane

Camping – To me, no summer is complete without at least one camping trip. I could probably do this all summer and be a happy camper (HA.). The hubs and I just ordered a couple of these great chairs from ALPS Mountaineering to be comfy by the campfire!

81gi4zfSIBL._SL1500_
Image via: Amazon

Fresh-faced – I don’t wear much makeup normally, but I wear even less in the summer. Keeping my face moisturized and sun-blocked will be key. Here’s what’s in my lineup:

Origins:

Lancôme:

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
These will be with me all Summer!

Travel – Hubs and I are heading to Montreal this summer! Recommendations are appreciated, leave me a comment! I’ll be posting about this when we return, but in the meantime, I’m just going to drool over what hopefully will be worth-the-hype-bagels:

Screenshot_20160605-154450_1
Image via: St-Viateur Bagel

Blog-bustling – I’ve got some big plans for The Artful Attempt and my summer is the best time to get those goals accomplished! Stay tuned for giveaways, featured posts, interviews, and other fun stuff!

Relaxing – Because it’s just as important as doing all these other great things. I’ve got a big painting I want to work on and maybe I’ll even read a few books, any recommendations?

summer plans

How do you spend your summer? 

Lydia Jane


From this post:

12 thoughts on “Making Summer Count

  1. You are so right on the camping front. I just looked at my calendar the other day and realized it was June… so immediately I started talking to friends and seeing what weekends we could align to make a trip happen!

    Like

    1. It’s hard! Last summer we definitely over-filled the calendar and even though it was all fun activities planned we sort of regretted being so busy and out of town a lot. We tried to limit ourselves this year and really prioritize what we wanted to do. I hope you enjoy all your plans and still get some summer relaxation in!

      Like

  2. Loooove the Everlane tees! Summer is my favorite for clothes because picking an outfit is so easy and you don’t have to worry about matching layers – just throw a tee, shorts, and shoes on and you’re good. I love camping in the fall the most because of the heat (we live in Georgia and it gets SO humid!), but we just got back from camping at the beach and loved it! Thanks for sharing, beautiful photos!

    Like

  3. oh I am so jealous of your trip to Montreal! It’s such a beautiful city I’ve heard!! I hope you get all you wish for this summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

