The Double Duty Coffee Table

A while ago (ok, quite a while) I wrote a post about how we were looking for a coffee table to fit our space. Since then I’ve gone back and forth about the best option. For a while I thought we absolutely needed a low profile rectangle, then I switched to the idea of 2 small square tables I could easily move around. For a majority of the time I thought just no coffee table would be best! At some point, both my husband and I came back around to the idea of a coffee table, and I think we’ve picked a mighty good one.

The table: 

img27o
Image via: West Elm

Why we like it:

There are several reasons, but the main one is because it’s both beautiful and functional in our space.

img_20170104_094054

It opens up to reveal a storage area inside and simultaneously turns itself into a desk or dining room table, which is great for pizza and movie nights in.

img_20170104_094224

Storage keeps our living room clear of extra clutter and hides ugly things like game controllers.

It’s a large table, but the open bottom keeps it from feeling like it takes up the whole room, and the large surface makes it much easier to spread out a board game when friends are over.

img_20170104_094246

I liked not having a coffee table because it made our small space feel large, but I’m glad we’ve found a table that makes the space feel inviting rather than closed off! It really does put the whole room together!

How have you dealt with a coffee table in a small living room?

Lydia Jane


From this post:

Leave a Reply

