Chicago Neighborhoods: Ukrainian Village

Next up in my Chicago Neighborhood Series! I have been falling more and more in love with Ukrainian Village lately. There’s so many hidden gems in this area. As I explore the area further, I’ll be taking avid notes for a second additional post on this area, but for now, here’s just a handful spots you need to check out.

Hoosier Mama Pie Company

I’ve written about Hoosier Mama before, but I’m going to advise you go there again, because it’s truly amazing. Fresh quiche in the mornings and pies that will absolutely blow your mind. Just go. Ok?

chicago bakeries - hoosier mama
Hoosier Mama Pie Company, Chicago
chicago bakeries - hoosier mama
Hoosier Mama Pie Company, Chicago

 

Sprout Home

If you’ve seen my recent post about becoming a plant person, you might guess that this place is like candy land for me – and you’d be right! Everything you need to plant, create terrariums, and learn about keeping things alive (ahem, me) is here. Wander around the inside or the courtyard!

Ukrianian Village Chicago
Sprout Home – Chicago
Ukrianian Village Chicago
Sprout Home – Chicago
Ukrianian Village Chicago
Sprout Home – Chicago

The Winchester

It took me way too long to try this place out. It’s such a cozy restaurant for a date night, and the food is delicious! I highly suggest the Afterglow cocktail and the sheep ricotta gnocchi!

Ukrainian Village Chicago
The Winchester – Chicago
Ukrianian Village Chicago
The Winchester – Chicago

Forbidden Root

So good. I love this place. Great for a group, great for a date night, awesome beer, awesome food. What more could you ask for? I’ll be featuring this place more in the future on another brewery post, so stay tuned for that. For now just gaze longingly at these mussels with caramelized lemon.

Ukrianian Village Chicago
Forbidden Root – Chicago
Ukrainian Village Chicago
Forbidden Root – Chicago
Ukrianian Village Chicago
Forbidden Root – Chicago
Ukrianian Village Chicago
Forbidden Root – Chicago

 

Have you ever been to Ukrainian Village in Chicago? What are your favorite stops?

Lydia Jane


 

Looking for other Chicago neighborhoods? Check these out:

OR check out my other Chicago faves!


From this post:

11 thoughts on “Chicago Neighborhoods: Ukrainian Village

  1. Loved visiting this area thanks to your great description and photos. That pie looks amazing! I have never been to Chicago but would love to visit at some point. – Trish

    Like

  2. This is my neighborhood! I love all of these. It took me WAY too long to actually visit The Winchester. Now that I’ve been, I look for any excuse to go!

    Like

Leave a comment